5 Comments

I’m not particularly prepped, but I do always like to know we’ve got an off-grid cabin in a woodland, an allotment and a garden veg patch… My most preppy thing was to buy iodine when Russie invaded Ukraine. It’s probably out of date now though…

Expand full comment
author

Hi Katie, thanks for the comment. I think iodine has a shelf life of 2 to 5 years depending on whether it's solution to tablets. I think I have some that's about 30 years old. Best bin it :-)

I used to have a NBC outfit left over from NBC training in the cadets. Still have the respirator. Nuclear is the only thing I'm not at all prepared for. Other than I have the tech to measure ionising radiation. If things go that far I'd probably rather not know.

If I was to upscale anything it would be my ability to purify water. I have a few water filtration systems. Including one decent high capacity system. But I'd need a better water catchment solution other than the three small water butts I currently have.

In regards to growing our own food we have a tiny greenhouse and would have to survive on garden full of wood pigeon. :-)

Expand full comment

Staying in LA I always knew where the go-bag was in case of earthquake son when the kids arrived I built my own from scratch to keep in the car here. I looked at ones you could buy complete online but the stuff was pretty low quality so although my gear is more expensive I know it won’t fall apart if I ever need it. Now it’s done I forget about it but have calendar reminders set so I know when to replace the energy bars etc.

Expand full comment
author

I found I could buy a box of MRE energy bars for next to nothing. I had hundreds of the things. Date and banana I think. Some ended up 5 years out of date and still tasted good.

Expand full comment

Yeah they’re a bit of a hassle which is why I went for a decent hatchet in case I need to sausageise the neighbours.

Expand full comment